DWI/DUI Defense in Arkansas
Experienced DWI/DUI Attorney
A DWI/DUI can significantly affect your life. The prospect of a suspended license, jail time, and community service obligations can greatly impair your daily life. Fortunately, attorney James G. Petty has handled hundreds of DWI/DUI cases throughout Central and Northern Arkansas, and he can help you face your DWI/DUI charge.
DWI/DUI Laws in Arkansas
Any controlled substance or intoxicant which impairs your judgment, motor skills, and/or reactions while operating a motor vehicle may result in a DWI/DUI charge. The most common DWI/DUI, however, concerns the ingestion of alcohol.
Law enforcement officers refer to your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) in determining whether your are over the legal limit and, therefore, are driving while intoxicated or under the influence. So, how much is too much?
- If you are 21 years of age, or older, a BAC of .08% or more
- If you are under 21 years of age, a BAC of .02% or more
Your BAC is determined from a sample of your blood, breath, or urine. When you drive in Arkansas, you are deemed to have given your consent to a blood, urine, or breath test; this is the implied consent law. A refusal to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test may result in the suspension of your license.
The Consequences of a DWI/DUI
If you refuse to submit to a BAC test, your license may be suspended. Additionally, a conviction may result in hefty fines and jail time, the duration of which is dependent on a variety of factors. Consult with Mr. Petty to learn how a DWI/DUI may affect you, and to learn how professional representation can help you avoid serious adverse consequences.